The Reason I Choose My First Job as PHP Backend Engineer

The Reason I Choose My First Job as PHP Backend Engineer

About Me

I completed my master's in 2020 and I was hunting for an entry-level position as Machine Learning Engineer or Data Analyst Intern. I had a good portfolio in Machine Learning, but something struck me and I started loving Backend Development while doing some basic server handling. I moved from Python to JavaScript, obviously because of the JavaScript web development ecosystem.

After moving to Backend Development in one or two months I started applying for jobs. I failed in interviews miserably. Then one position came to me as PHP Backend Engineer. Honestly, I hated PHP my whole life. I don’t know the reason behind my hate. Here I am giving an interview for PHP. Then, I thought let’s give it a shot, if I pass the interview I will see. And, I got selected. So, the thoughts started playing with me, should I join or not? Does PHP have a future? What will I learn from this job?

After thinking a lot I choose to join. Why? Why did I choose to become a PHP Backend Developer?

Languages are tools

Languages are tools, the main and important part is problem-solving. Let’s take an example. If a client wants to build an eCommerce website and is ready to pay you a decent amount. Does he care about what tech stack you will use? Probably not, because clients don't care about which tech stack you use. All they care about is you delivering the result. Use whatever language you want you to use and solve the problem.

Treat Languages as tools to solve problems. I have seen people fighting on, is HTML a programming language or not? Python vs R? Making fun of PHP and whatnot. The clever thing to do is learn Python as well as R, learn HTML, learn PHP because it solves certain problems. Next time someone is fighting over Python or R, PHP, make sure you learn these and let them fight.

Every language has its own pros and cons

Each language has its own pros and cons. Take a look at JavaScript, if you meet a JavaScript developer he would be telling you a lot of bad things about JavaScript. But does it make JavaScript a bad language? NO! Obviously not. If you want to print just “HELLO WORLD” in java you need some 9-10 lines of code but in Python, you just need one line. Does it make Java a bad language? NO!

Each Language has its own use cases

C++ is good for game development, OS development, and browser development. JavaScript has an ecosystem of Web Development. Python has an ecosystem of Machine Learning and Data Analysis. Java is used for Backend as well as in Android Development. Each of these languages is good at something and bad at something. You should use language which solves the problem most efficiently.

I think all of these are the reasons I chose to be a PHP Backend Engineer. At last before concluding, as a Software Engineer you should be ready to pick a new language, a new framework. Don’t attach yourself to any programming language or framework. Technology is evolving faster than we think. Learning new things on the go is one of the most important skills in our world. Focus more on solving problems instead of thinking about which language to use. As I said earlier, choose a language that solves your problem efficiently.

<?php

echoNew adventure started”;

?>